Veterans Affairs Commission


The Commission meets monthly, normally on the second Monday of the month.


The Veterans Affairs Commission is composed of three members that are appointed by the Board of Supervisors. Each member's term lasts three years. 

The Commissioners themselves have to be Veterans as defined in Iowa Code, Chapter 35.1 with a Honorable Discharge.

  • Bernie Koehrsen , Executive Secretary
  • David Mitchell, Member
    Term Expires: 6-30-2022
    Iowa Falls
  • Bonnie Wiederkehr, Secretary
    Term Expires: 6-30-2020
  • Don Orgel, Member
    Term Expires: 6-30-2021

Board Overview

The Commissioners and Executive Director are certified to handle veterans' issues and update their certifications each year. The Veterans Affairs Commission is a member of the Iowa County Commissions of Veterans Affairs. 

For More Information

If you have something that needs to be brought before the Veterans Affairs Commission, please contact the VA Director at 641-939-8240 or by email.